top of page

Society Presidents

Dato Mokhzani.jpg

The late Dato’ Dr. Mokhzani bin Abdul Rahim

Founding President, 1985-2003

Dato’ Dr. Mokhzani bin Abdul Rahim graduated with a Bachelor of Arts (Hons) degree in Economics from the University of Malaya and a MA and Ph.D from the LSE. He was a former Professor and Dean of the Faculty of Economics and Administration, University of Malaya, and Deputy Vice Chancellor, University  of Malaya.

Dato’ Mokhzani was Chairman of Metal Reclamation Berhad and Pembangunan Sumber Manusia Berhad, President Emeritus of the Malaysian Employers’ Federation and a member of the Malaysian Business Council and the Malaysia-Norway Business Council. Also Vice-President of Malaysia-Japan Economic Association and a member of the Board of Malaysian Industrial Development Authority, the Institute of Strategic & International Studies, Employees Provident Fund and the Board of Trustees of the Malaysian Institute of Economic Research.

Datuk Yong Teck Lee.jpg

Datuk Yong Teck Lee

President, 2003-2006

Datuk Yong Teck Lee received his LL.B (Hons) from the LSE and is a Barrister-at-Law from Lincoln’s Inn, London. Shortly after returning to Sabah, he entered politics in 1985, joining the Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS). He won the Likas seat in the State Legislative Assembly in April that year and rose quickly to become party assistant information chief and Housing and Local Government Assistant Minister.

Datuk Yong won in subsequent contests for the Likas seat in 1986, 1990, 1994, and 1999. In 1989, he was appointed Assistant State Finance Minister and Deputy President of Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) and in 1990 was made Sabah Deputy Chief Minister and Minister for Industrial Development. Resigning from Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) in 1994, he formed the Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP). In 1996, he became Sabah’s 10th Chief Minister until 1998.

TS Munir.jpg

Tan Sri Dr. Munir Majid

President, 2006-2010

Tan Sri Dr Munir Majid is Visiting Senior Fellow, Southeast Asia International Affairs Programme at LSE IDEAS. Dr. Majid obtained a B.Sc (Econ) degree and a Ph.D in International Relations from the LSE. He taught in LSE’s Department of International Relations from 1972-75 and then worked for Daiwa Europe in London from 1975-78. Subsequently, he was Group Editor of the New Straits Times (NST), Executive Chairman of CIMB and served as the first Executive Chairman of the Securities Commission where he served from 1993-99. He also served as Chairman of MAS for 7 years, stepping down in July 2011.

Tan Sri was a regular columnist for the NST from 2001-04 and is now an occasional contributor to The Edge and a regular contributor to the Star  covering mainly contemporary economic and political issues. He was made an Honorary Fellow of the LSE in 2005. Currently, he is the Chairman of Bank Muamalat Malaysia and CIMB ASEAN Research Institute (CARI).

TS Azman Yahya.jpg

Tan Sri Mohamed Azman Yahya

President, 2010-2012

Tan Sri Azman is the founder and Group Chief Executive Officer of Symphony House Berhad. He graduated with a first class honours degree in Economics from LSE in 1985 and is a member of ICAEW, MIA and a Fellow of the Malaysian Institute of Bankers.


Prior to venturing into business, Tan Sri Azman was appointed by the Government of Malaysia in 1998 to set-up and head Danaharta and subsequently became its Chairman until 2003. He was also the Chairman of the Corporate Debt Restructuring Committee (CDRC).  His previous career appointments include auditing with KPMG in London, finance with the Island & Peninsular Group and investment banking with Bumiputra Merchant Bankers and Amanah Merchant Bank, the latter as Chief Executive.


Outside his professional engagements, Tan Sri Azman is active in public service. He sits on the boards of a number of Government Linked Corporations including Khazanah Nasional Berhad.


Dato' Lee Hau Hian

President, 2012-2018

Dato’ Lee is the Managing Director of Batu Kawan Berhad and a director of Kuala Lumpur Kepong Berhad and Synthomer plc. He graduated in 1975 with a BSc Economics degree from the LSE and has an MBA from Stanford University, USA.


He is the President of The Perak Chinese Maternity Association, which runs a non-profit hospital in Ipoh. He serves as a director in various other companies and foundations.

_DSC0047 (2).png

Dato' Azman Shah Mohd Yusof

President, 2018-present

Dato' Azman graduated with a Bachelor's Degree in Economics, specializing in International Trade and Development, from LSE in 1992 and also completed an Executive Programme in Macroeconomic Policy and Management at Harvard University, USA in 1996.  He has had more than 10 years of experience serving the Government, holding various senior positions at Bank Negara Malaysia, Danaharta and Corporate Debt Restructuring Committee. 


Subsequently in 2002, Dato' Azman became a corporate advisor and company director for companies involved in property development, REIT management, hotel management, media advertising, radio broadcasting, information technology and agriculture products.  


In May 2010, he was appointed as the Head of Marketing and Corporate Services at Bolton Berhad, a property development company.  In May 2012, Dato' Azman was appointed as the Chief Executive Officer of Integrax Berhad, a public-listed company which owns Lekir Bulk Terminal, one of the region's largest dry bulk port.  Dato' Azman joined the MMC Group, one of Malaysia's largest conglomerates, in November 2015 and was appointed as the Chief Executive Officer of Northport (Malaysia) Bhd on 16th February 2016. 

bottom of page